Xbox Gamescom focus is on previously announced games

Last updated:

Xbox’s Gamescom stream is not on new announcements but on “updates from some of our previously announced Xbox Games Studios titles [and] third-party partners.” That’s the official word for the event, which will be held on August 24 at 10 am Pacific, 6pm UK or 1 am Philippines time. There will also be mucho news regarding upcoming additions to Xbox Game Pass.

Aaron Greenberg, head of global product marketing for Xbox said not to expect new reveals or major surprises but promised a fun stream with hosts Kate Yeager and Parris Lilly. There will also be a multi-day livestream held by Bethesda Germany starting August 26, via Bethesda’s MainStream on Twitch. Other publishers participating at Gamescom include EA, Sega and Activision.

As the self-described heart of gaming, Gamescom is historically the world’s largest gaming event held in the before times in Cologne, Germany. This will be the second year in a row that Gamescom will be an all-digital event after organizers game.de (Verband der deutschen Games-Branche) abandoned plans this year to stage a hybrid show, thanks to ongoing complications relating to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The main event of Gamescom will take place between August 26-27 following the Opening Night Live showcase, which will be hosted by Geoff Keighley, the iconic hype man of video games behind the annual Game Awards. It will be held on August 25 at 11am Pacific, 7pm UK or 12 midnight Philippines time.

Xbox Gamescom

In addition to confirming streams on Facebook Gaming, Twitch, Twitter and YouTube, the official Xbox Wire said regional sites like Bilibili in China and VK.com in Russia will also be hosting their content. Xbox also reaffirmed their commitment to accessibility with plans to offer support 30 languages, along with English descriptive audio and American Sign Language (ASL).

There will also be a special Gamescom edition of Xbox Fanfest this year. Finally, if you somehow missed out on the Ultimate Game Sale last week, there’ll be another sale to coincide with Gamescom. A digital Gamescom sale “for our fans in Europe” will offer savings of up to 75 percent on a range of “iconic” titles at the Xbox Store.

To be honest, the schedule this year for Gamescom is a bit of an inconvenience for Europeans and Asians who cover videogames. The event historically had friendlier hours for writers and editors in Europe and Asia, but this year is more accommodating for Pacific and Eastern time zones. Gamescom 2021, like other gaming showcases, will be a typical late night off the clock for us.

Source: Xbox Wire