Hades among well-deserved wins at GDC Awards 2021

Last updated:

The Game Developers Conference held its awards shows yesterday and Supergiant Games’ underworld roguelite Hades was among many well-deserved wins. It took home the top prize as the Game of the Year at the Game Developers Choice Awards (GDCA). That wasn’t the only award it bagged. Supergiant took home the Best Design and the Best Audio awards as well.

The other distinguished winner was the retrofuturistic photography sim Umurangi Generation by Veselekov and Origame Digital. IT won the Seumas McNally Grand Prize, the highest honor at the Independent Games Festival (IGF) Awards. Other IGF honorees included Genesis Noir, which received Excellence in Audio and Excellence in Visual Art and Blaseball, the crowd-driven narrative sport sim which took the Nuovo Award for games that “think differently.”

Hades among well-deserved wins

Other winners at the GDCA included Microsoft Flight Simulator (Asobo Studio) for Best Technology, multiplayer indie horror sensation Phasmophobia (Kinetic Games) for Best Debut and Half-Life: Alyx (Valve) for Best VR/AR Game. Like Hades they’re all among the well-deserved wins of the entire awards night.

The awards are also when the GDC honors individuals for their contributions to the game industry. Tom Fulp, who created the Flash game hosting site and Internet culture legend Newgrouds, received the Pioneer Award. Laralyn McWilliams, the creative director for Free Realms with nearly three decades of experience and credits on games like Sid Meier’s Alpha Centauri and Full Spectrum Warrior, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Left: Lauralyn McNally at a GDC talk in 2019, Right: Tom Fulp as seen in an upcoming documentary by Felicity Morland

An archived VOD of the full ceremony for both awards can be viewed on the GDC’s Twitch and YouTube. Here’s the complete list of awards and winners:

2021 Game Developers Choice Awards winners:

Best Audio: Hades (Supergiant Games)

Best Debut: Phasmophobia (Kinetic Games)

Best Design: Hades (Supergiant Games)

Best Mobile Game: Genshin Impact (miHoYo)

Innovation Award: Dreams (Media Molecule / Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Best Narrative: The Last of Us Part II (Naughty Dog / Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Best Technology: Microsoft Flight Simulator (Asobo Studio / Xbox Game Studios)

Best Visual Art: Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Productions / Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Best VR/AR Game: Half-Life: Alyx (Valve)

Audience Award: Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Productions / Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Game of the Year: Hades (Supergiant Games)

Pioneer Award: Tom Fulp

Lifetime Achievement Award: Laralyn McWilliams

2021 Independent Games Festival Awards:

Best Student Game: Vessels (Local Space Survey Corps, LLC)

Excellence in Audio: Genesis Noir (Feral Cat Den)

Excellence in Narrative: Umurangi Generation (Origame Digital)

Audience Award: Arrog (Hermanos Magia and Leap Game Studios)

Excellence in Design: Teardown (Tuxedo Labs)

Excellence in Visual Art: Genesis Noir (Feral Cat Den)

Nuovo Award: Blaseball (The Game Band)

Seumas McNally Grand Prize: Umurangi Generation (Origame Digital)